Some people believe that excessive use of modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

New technologies provide both advantages and disadvantages. While some people believe that the intense use of these modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, may affect negatively the writing and reading skills of youngsters, others believe that these technologies do not cause any problems related to these skills. In my opinion, excessive use of these technologies is prejudicial both to writing and reading ability. First, it is common to see in some new technologies wrong spelling of the words. This can lead to a inadequate learning of the words. For example, a lot of young people, instead of using the right spelling of the words when using smartphones, generally use a contraction or abbreviation. Consequently, when they have to write using the right forme, they do not know due to the constant use of wrong spelling. In addition, excessive use of anything may be prejudicial. Thus, using too much smartphones and computers probably can affect negatively writing and reading ability of young people. Second, youngers are less interested in good readings such as a newspaper or book. This may be due to the uncontrolled use of new technologies. The lack of reading caused by these new trends definitely affect writing and reading skills. This is because they are not exposed anymore to complex and well-developed text. Therefore, they are avoiding readings that effectively build strong writing and reading skill. In conclusion, new technologies may be affecting negatively both writing and reading skills of young people. Not only they are getting used to wrong spelling of words, but also they are less exposed to good contents that truly develop these skills.