Some people feel that with the rise of artificial intelligence, computers and robots will take over the roles of teachers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Thanks to the development of new technology, many folks could approach various education methods. However, there are several who think due to artificial intelligence, it will revert the roles of educators. In this essay, I will only partly agree with this view as I believe there are some alternative ways. Undoubtedly, there are compelling reasons why some people believe advanced technology taking over the roles of teachers is a negative trend. To begin with, using artificial intelligence, including computers and robots, will threaten teachers’ job security. To be specific, as AI continues to automate more aspects of the education process, there may be fewer demands for human educators, which could lead to potential job loss. Next, based on a learning experience without human touch, students may miss out on the nuanced approach that only a traditional teacher can offer. For instance, robots might not be able to sympathize or connect to learners emotionally. In spite of that, I believe the increase of modern technology will not take over the jobs of teachers. Firstly, by using new technology it will improve student engagement and motivation. In particular, the use of AI applications in teaching can enhance the learning experience in many ways like personalised learning exercises by instant feedback. Secondly, by using new technology in education it will reduce the cost of education from an educational institution’s perspective, and quite significantly if used to its potential. For instance, in South Korea multiple academies are using digital screens instead of paper books and online classes instead of participating physically. Thus, it not only decreased the budget for learning materials but has also benefited the learners themselves due to the flexibility of online lectures. In a nutshell, even though there are several modern people who think future technology will revert the role of teachers due to non-human experience, I believe that using new technology is a positive trend due to learner engagement and cost-effectiveness.