Parents and teachers make many rules for children to encourage good behaviour and protect them from danger. However, children would benefit from fewer rules and greater freedom

Children are often subjected to regulations to govern their nature and to ensure their safety. While many put up the point that these rules help in developing good habits, others argue that it restrains a child's mental development. In my opinion, rules are necessary for the development of a pupil, but having a plethora of them could have a negative effect. Those who argue that rules are essential, often put up the point that it inculcates morality, ethics and good habits in children. They also put up the point that having strong governance ensures safety for their child. For instance, having strict regulations in the playing field helps one to play by the rules while ensuring their safety. Absence of such restrictions can not only lead to injuries but also cause fights, which can have adverse effects. Also, parents often have various rules to be followed at home, helping children to develop positive values. One the other hand, I believe that having excessive restriction can arrest a kid's developing brain hampering the ability to innovate and think out of the box.I also support the popular opinion that mistakes are the best lessons in life and can have a positive effect on children's growth. For example, if an assignment is allocated to the students by their teacher without any fixed rules, many children will come up with ingenious solutions, helping them to develop an open mindset. If the task is too regulated, the solutions are often monotonous, leaving lesser room for innovations. In conclusion, rules play a pivotal role in guiding a person and often help in developing good values, but, having too many of them or having it at every juncture could have unintended negative effects. Finding the correct balance between restriction and freedom is imperative for a child's balanced progress.