Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

On our days, the number of native tongues spoken is declining. In this essay, we will discuss why we should protect the dying idioms and the consequences that losing these languages will have on our cultural heritage and how this will affect our society. Firstly, losing a tongue entails the disappearance of the culture bound to that language and that’s irreplaceable. To illustrate, the loosing of the Latin language that is relegated to academic purposes and fewer people choose to learn Latin every year. As a consequence of thus, a lot of historical information written in Latin will be incomprehensive and, for that reason, we will lose a huge amount of historical and cultural data. For these reasons, maintaining the languages is vital for our cultural development. Secondly, the societies tied to these dialects may disappear if the language does. A mother tongue is a cohesive agent among the population all around the world. And, as a result of the death of the native tongue those boundaries may disappear, thus dismembering the society. For example, the Guarani dialect spoken in Perú by the Peruvian natives is a seal of identity among the native communities. In consequence of the loss of the Guarani, the indigenous people will suffer the loss of one of their most valuable heritages. To conclude, the actual number of idioms in danger represents a problem due to the amount of cultural heritage that is in danger of being lost if that language dies. Also, the societies that spoke that language as a mother tongue may see their bonds disappearing with their native tongue.