Many historical buildings are destroyed or damaged. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to preserve these buildings?

As societies modernise and their population burgeon, it is evident that historical establishments are flattened to accommodate more people in metropolises. I will present the two underlying reasons for this and further suggest two measures to conserve these essential old buildings. Two reasons could be attributed to the destruction and damage of historic edifices, and the main one is the safety issue. As these buildings were erected prior to the development of modern architecture technology, they are less immune to natural disasters such as earthquakes and hurricanes. For instance, more than 30% of Thailand's monasteries were swept away by the 2010 Tsunami, and this called for the authorities to replace them with high-rises that contain the disaster-resilient design. Moreover, historic establishments are left without care due to a lack of appreciation of history from governments to individuals. They believe that the budget for maintaining these establishments should go to other crucial sectors such as education and healthcare, and this just leaves these buildings under-funded and thus, vulnerable to damage. However, few measures could be put in place to conserve the valuable antiquated structures. First of all, governments can renovate them to withstand natural disasters. For instance, Japanese houses that are older than 100 years now all have installed base isolation so that they absorb seismic activities and ensure the safety of the people. Moreover, national authorities could impose a minimum expenditure on these old buildings to ensure that their values are kept intact and even advertised to the local communities. In conclusion, I believe that historic edifices are torn down due to safety issues and society's indifference, yet, this can be remedied if governments renovate them to become resilient to natural disasters and ensure that sufficient budget is annually delivered to maintain these structures.