In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals believe that it is essential to invest a huge proportion of funds in the development of railway infrastructure; however, I consider enhancing the current mass transit systems. On the one hand, investing in the railway is preferred since it is the most economical and cost-effective mode of transportation. It serves as a vital link between remote areas and urban centres, facilitating connectivity and transportation across regions which allows people to commute, travel and trade goods easily and frequently for example, workers from New Jersey use subway systems to commute daily in New York for their jobs. Although railway projects provide several socio-economic benefits one of their major drawbacks that they put a massive burden on the government's annual budget and furthermore, lots of manpower and time are required for their development. On the other hand, funding existing transport infrastructure has several benefits. Firstly, no overhead costs are involved, Since much of the public transport is already developed therefore no additional cost is incurred for its expansion. Secondly, it helps reduce traffic on roads, the governments should promote the idea of choosing buses as a mode of commuting because it will reduce traffic congestion on roads in peak hours of the day and also reduce the consumption of fossil fuels which in turn reduces carbon emissions. Finally, it is flexible and easily accessible, comparing it to an train where you have to book a reservation in advance whereas on a bus, you just simply get in and reach your destination at your will. In conclusion, both public and railway transportation have their own advantages but I suggest improving public transport for better movement of people and trade across the cities and regions.