Many people living in cities these days do not get enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this? What are some possible solutions?

Not getting enough physical exercise becomes one of the living in city characteristics. City lifestyle contributes to the poor exercise level to its inhabitants. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this and how to solve that issue. One of the reasons for this is the way of living in the city. Meaning, people work for long hours, which gave them no time for exercise at the end of the day. To illustrate, a person working from nine to five is spending eight hours at work, plus two hours on average to commute and probably another two hours in house chores and eight hours of sleep. The sum of all this is twenty hours; thus, he has only four hours to communicate with his family and spend some time to relax. Another reason is the lack of free or affordable exercise facilities. A clear example of this is the soar prices of gym memberships, which forms a huge burden on any middle-class employee's budget. Therefore, it discourages some from regularly working out. There are possible solutions to add physical exercise to the daily routine. Firstly, people should adopt a new practical and effective way to move which is avoiding shortcuts. For instance, a person can use the stairs instead of the elevator, walks whenever possible and avoids transportation for a short distance. As a result, the sum of these small changes will sum up as a decent amount of daily exercise. Secondly, governments should add incentives for people to encourage them to adopt a healthy physical lifestyle. For example, tax reduction on the prices of home-exercising gadgets, adding more open free space in cities are some of the steps that can help elevate the individuals' level of exercise. In conclusion, some city residents facing challenges to get enough exercises. This is caused by the long working day and the absence of suitable exercising places. That is been said, there are ways to overcome this; like creating new personal habits and exercise -encouraging government plans.