Some people think that a car is the best way to travel in cities while others believe a bicycle is a better way. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Someone believes that a car is the best way to travel in cities while other others believe a bicycle is a better way. There are many advantages and disadvantages that need to be considered. Nowadays, cars are owned by more and more people around the world. Using a car in spite of a bicycle is normally safer, more comfortable and cheaper, moreover, it's more time-efficient as driving requires less time to reach a destination. Taking into account the disadvantages generated by cars it's noticeable how pollution, that is one of the major causes of climate-changing, and traffic on the streets, that is also one of the major cause of pollution, are the main problems. To cite an example, recent studies suggest that in Rome nearly 30% of pollution is generated by vehicles. In addition, car accidents have a fatality rate of 6%, thus, they are normally worst compared to bicycle accidents, where the fatality rate is just 0.5%. On the other hands, using a bike to travel in cities could lead to a huge number of advantages such as fewer expenses as cyclist don't need fuel or taxes to ride on the streets, furthermore, bikes are environmentally friendly as they don't generate any deterioration, and also people that use to cycle has stronger health compared to a commuter that drives. The main disadvantages of cycling are that cyclist needs to rely on the wheater, also they rely on the infrastructures for bikers. For instance, Amsterdam has more than 5000 Km of bike lanes, By doing so, nearly 80% of commuters tend to use a bike or public transport instead of their own vehicle. As a result, Amsterdam air is less polluted compared to other similar cities that don't own these infrastructures. To sum up, I strongly believe that governments should take severe measures in order to tackle this problem and allowing more people to choose a more ecological mean of transportation. By doing so, they could reach other goals such as reducing the infection levels inside cities, reducing traffic problems and allow people to improve their lifestyle.