Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

In today's world, the older generation tends to struggle while using the latest smart equipment including mobile phones and computers. The use of modern technologies has been rapidly increasing and it is developing so drastically that by the time someone gets equipped with the current technology, their upgraded versions are already present in the market, such advancements makes it difficult for old people to adopt it so they rather avoid it. This essay will discuss why this is happening and what can be done to overcome this. The major causes are regular upgrades in all the latest gadgets without even considering how people with higher age groups will use it, as they require some skills set or training. For instance, even for a young man,it takes a week to explore new features in the latest phone he purchased. So can you imagine how difficult will it be for someone of 80 years of age to use it without any help? Similarly, in the case of computers requires some kind of training before one can use it freely, as it is a complex process. Most of the things today are app-based, for example, to order grocery one should have an app with an account in the smart device to be able to order, the difficult user interface will make it worse for older people to use it. A common opinion is that senior citizens have a phobia for the latest tools and technologies. As every problem has a solution, I believe the best way to overcome this to educate them on how to get familiar with the latest smart technological items. By training them at the point of purchase will also be a very good idea to overcome their mental barrier against smartphones. For example, training them with detailed instructions on how to start and use skype on a computer while they are buying will make them more confident. Moreover, government authorities should provide helpline numbers to help and guide senior citizens facing issues using the latest equipment. To conclude I would like to say that the best way is to face the problem rather than to ignore it and make it more complex. With proper guidance, training and help even an 85 years old person can be a master in using all the latest technologies available in the market.