Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Health and diet have always remained a controversial topic across the globe. Various cultures make different choices while preparing food. Being a non-vegetarian degrades the health of human beings, while some argue that, it is a good source of vitamins and nutrients. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and then give my opinion. To begin, humans have evolved from animals and from many centuries they were dependent upon both flora and fauna to meet their needs. All the nutrients required for a sapien body cannot be obtained from plants because everyone has different needs. For instance, Omega-3 is required to sharpen the memory of individuals which can only be found in the organisms living in the sea. Hence, it is acceptable to rely on different species to ensure personal good health. However, with evolution, the requirements of the bodies have also changed. The Hindu culture is strictly vegetarian and they have been dependent upon plants and food for centuries. Moreover, a study conducted on different diet plans by Harvard University, for example, proves that humans do not need to be carnivores for their nutrients. Due to excessive fishing, the climate is changing dramatically which is leading to global warming. Therefore, people should only depend upon natural vegetation for their needs. By taking everything into consideration, I am of the opinion that people should not eat meat as human bodies have changed over the years and becoming a vegan or vegetarian improves the life expectancy rate. Also, the environment is suffering to the massive killing of other species. The governments can help mitigate this problem by making people more aware through campaigns or any form of media.