Some people think litter in public places is a serious problem, others do not think so. What is your opinion?

It has been intensively argued whether it is a tremendous issue if trash is thrown in public areas. I completely agree that rubbish in public places is problematic to human beings. I will elaborate on the reasons for my viewpoint in the following paragraphs. It will bring a negative impact on the image of the city to tourists and visitors if rubbish in public areas is out of control. When travellers from other countries and cities visit the city, they can have an unpleasant experience once they observe a messy environment and smell awful air due to litter in public areas. Then they will share their experiences and feelings with their acquittances. Even worse if the visitors are investors or public officers from other countries because they might give up their investment plans, as a result, it will lead to a financial loss to the area. For example, Beijing managed to be a tidy and well-organized city before the 2008 Olympic games, therefore, Beijing could build up a positive impression and solid reputation in front of the world and it can further attract investments from all over the world to China. Additionally, civilians’ health can be threatened as trash in public areas leads to various environmental pollution. Air pollution is one of the outstanding problems as wastes from food and daily usage can produce an awful smell and spread the smell to the residents nearby if these wastes are not dealt with appropriately, living residents’ mental health will be influenced as the smell can cause anxiety and depression. Meanwhile, litter in public areas can make soil polluted, therefore, the vegetables and grain grown on the land will be unhealthy and it will be harmful to individuals to eat them. In conclusion, there might be some reasons to support that people who do not believe litter in public areas is a big issue. However, in my view of point, I believe that it cannot be easily underestimated no matter from the perspective of the city's reputation or human health.