Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

In recent times, parents are more conscious about the development of their offsprings. They opine that the free time activities of the pupils must be inclined to their academics rather than wasting their time in recreational activity. I partially disagree with the above notion and supporting arguments are discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the most important reason to introduce creative activities to pupils during their leisure time is to provide them with all-around development. Due to non-academic activities such as music, dance and sports would develop many important skills, which could not be taught by lectures and books. For instance, children can learn the importance of teamwork and time by playing a football match. Moreover, the recreational activity during the leisure will help the students get a break from their monotonous study and it works as a stress buster for them. Thus, apart from educational work, sports and creative work will contribute to the personality development of adolescents. Furthermore, to develop confidence and independent thinking some activity such as painting and singing are essential for the pupils. Consequently, the attraction of a child towards art enhances his imaginative power, which will make a positive impact on his academics. For example, the researchers had surveyed that the children having good painting skills consists of good handwriting. Lastly, nowadays, many youngsters are suffering from obesity. To prevent these diseases to the young generation, they must be motivated towards athletics and regular exercise during free time. To conclude, the leisure activities of the youngsters play a vital role in their academic and personal development. In my view, adolescents must be motivated for recreational activities during their free time. The educational institutes have to spread awareness to the society about the importance of such activity.