Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

High school students have a tendency to postpone enrolling in universities to seek employment or travelling experience. Although it is undeniable that this has potential drawbacks in terms of the demands for money and the loss of academic momentum, I believe that it would yield tremendous benefits for the students themselves. Spending a year away from education seems to be a costly plan for school leavers. It is ubiquitous that students often pay a visit to other countries to do volunteer work or travel. There are apparently many essential expenses, including flights, accommodations as well as medical care that they have to manage. Young people aged around 18 years old who are unlikely to have part-time jobs while studying are in dire need of financial support for their plan, which would eventually place a burden on their parents. Furthermore, this bold option is likely to interrupt the studying journey of those students, which could have adverse effects on their academic performance. For example, a year off without making a regular practice on writing appears to diminish a student who specialize in literature’s writing competence. The experience of working or travelling, however, would be priceless for those who fully take advantage of this time out of school. Firstly, having a job in the field that ones are going to pursue would enable them to familiarize themselves with its practicalities and give them a chance to question their suitability for that career. For instance, a student having an intention to study early childhood education could voluntarily work in some organizations holding events for children in which he or she can have frequent exposure to them through playing or teaching. This means he or she can later make a decision on whether their personality would facilitate them in the future or not. Secondly, a short period of time off from school is considered as a mental reward for students who have spent twelve continuous years studying. Delaying university enrollment to follow other passions apart from academic affairs such as going overseas to learn about other cultures or enhancing photographing skills is an ideal plan. As a result, when they return to university, it seems that the effectiveness of their studying would experience a significant improvement. To conclude, despite some of the inevitable disadvantages that school students may get from taking a gap year, including the costly expenses and disruption of studying, it is advisable for them to do so because of the opportunity to understand themselves to make right choices and unwind for learning betterment.