Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Using animals for advancing medical techniques or furthering experimental research has been a topic of heated debate for many years. For some people, animals are their companions, while for others, they are just a means for the development of human welfare. In my opinion, I argue that animal experiments should be forbidden because of the reasons below. First of all, those experiments violate animals’ basic right. Since animals cannot vocalize their own preferences, they are not given a choice. Higher mammalian species are subjects of lives just as human beings are, so they might not willingly sacrifice themselves for the improvement of humankind. Secondly, the agonizing pain that experimental animals are being subject to is not worth any possible benefits to humanity. For example, in the Draze Draize test, the substance or product being tested is placed in the eyes of an animal, which might lead to blindness, scarring or even death. Another reason for the prohibition is that thanks to the advance of science and technology, alternatives to animal testing are available. Many laboratories around the globe are using artificial materials or advanced computer-modelling techniques instead of living animals for testing medicines and other products. Moreover, since many citizens oppose animal exploitation, using those alternative methods might help companies to enhance their public images. For instance, the sales of The Body Shop – a cosmetic brand in the UK has gone up significantly since they confirmed that they no longer used animal species for testing the safety of their products. In conclusion, I believe that animal experiments should be banned because they are a needless waste of animal life and other testing methods are possible.