Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Societies with heritage in the arts have long been considered as culturally sophisticated and advanced. Few people believe that spending on sculptures by the governing body is a waste of money, whereas the same should be used for the benefit of mankind. I strongly agree with this view because the government should spend tax-payer’s money not only to generate employment but also to provide free learning. The job opportunity is the primary need for an individual. In the amid of financial crisis, lawmakers need to come up with economic plans to generate employment for the people instead of spending it on lavishness and sculptures. The reason for this is that most of the population needs financial aid for their survival in the era of recession and minority of them will have any interest in the artwork. For instance, the Newcastle, UK, the city suffering from a higher rate of unemployment, yet the council has commissioned a large sculpture “Angel of the North”. Financing job creation projects would undoubtedly have been more practical for the local community. Adding to this, training is the basic right for the citizens of a nation. It is difficult for the people, who are below the poverty line, to plan quality science for their children. Henceforth, it will be wise for elected bodies to plan for educational projects which aid these people with free teaching and more so, expenditure should be made to modernize the current knowledge scheme. This will improve the education rate which will benefit society. For example, the learning rate of Kerala, India is 100% and the only reason is that their legislature spends more on strengthening the schooling rather than on sculptures. Hence, this is clearly proven that current generation needs a better proficiency scheme rather than statues. To conclude, few of mankind has a belief that expenditure made by the government on sculptures instead for betterment of citizens is a misuse of people’s taxes. I strongly agreed with this view because the same resource should be utilized for creating job opportunities for the community and in developing a free and better teaching arrangement.