Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, children spend most of their time on smartphones and other smart devices. Due to that, they have to suffer through mental, physical and emotional challenges at a very young age. Hence, to me, this is a negative development and this essay will provide reasons behind my view. To start with, there can be various reasons behind children actively using technology. After the covid, many schools have now shifted their lectures online and due to that many children were introduced to smartphones. Furthermore, many children prefer to play games online rather than physically playing in nature. For example, due to a lack of family time, many parents allow their children to play online games so they don't have to pay much attention to them and they can enjoy their leisure time. Hence, parents are equally responsible as they fail to control their children for this habit. Due to this, many children face multiple health challenges at a young age. Due to a lack of physical activities and longer screen times, many young individuals experience obesity. Also, some of them suffer from eye diseases due to the emission of the UV radiation. For instance, my brother suffered from mental trauma because he was addicted to violent games and he is still not able to recover. The youth is suffering and hence, I consider it as a huge negative development. In conclusion, I believe there are multiple reasons behind children using smartphones at a very early stage but the outcomes are more dangerous. However, there can be many solutions to solve this central problem. But for now, this is a huge negative development.