Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is argued if public funds should be destinated to the arts instead of other areas that would provide better results for the society. I totally disagree with the idea that money spent with art is waste, since it helps children’s development and improves tourism activity. Firstly, the main reason I believe the government must invest on the arts is that it is a powerful subject in primary schools. It allows pupils to develop one of the most important abilities for any succesful career nowadays, creativity. To ilustrate, I have read an article recently that shows that adults who have attended art classes in their first years of education are far more accomplished in their professions than those who have not. In addition, a country that takes on account the arts serioulsly is more likely to become a touristic attraction, which certainly boosts its economy. Besides, it provides a significant opportunity to the locals to know people from other countries, learning about their lifestyles and traditions, and sharing their own also, contributing to the social development of the region. For example, since Tomorrow’s Museum, in Rio de Janeiro, has been opened, the income’s average of the residents of the city have been raising, and it is already 50% higher if compared with the year before. To conclude, I reaffirm that every penny that the state spends on the arts is an investment on the educational, social and economical areas of the country, and not an waste, like some strongly believe.