Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

The most appropriate way of assessing a student’s potential is by conducting an official examination. While other methods like course-related tasks or project are not productive. I disagree that extra activities are less essential, they not only help students to gain practical experience but also sharpen their research and presentation skills. This essay will discuss why coursework designed for gradual growth before examinations are important for student’s progress. Firstly, the majority of the courses are a gateway for students to start their professional career. Therefore, they need to build up confidence and understand the attitude they require to have before the step in their industry. A great example would the nursing course, where the students are trained under senior nurse and marked for their on-floor performance before they come on board as certified professionals. For this reason, it is important that courses include industrial based learning so that students get exposed to the real work environment, and therefore, they should be marked for their contribution accordingly. Secondly, constant assignment helps students to explore more about their course and improve the way of delivering their knowledge. In other words, many projects are related to the subject that involves intense research about their origin, history, advancements etc. For example, a student learning Ayurveda, the study of historic medicines, needs to study their origin and development to expertise in their field. As a result, research work and presentation enhance student’s subject knowledge as well as make them a good speaker from their learnings. In conclusion, issuing extra tasks apart final examination gives students a chance of learning in their own pace before they are well-trained to successfully complete the course. Hence, such activities must be marked and should carry a certain percentage in overall performance assessments