A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Our world is getting more and more materialistic with the passage of time. Despite valuing according to the wonderful character and the kind heart one owns, a person's value is often judged by his property and his position in society. I totally agree with this statement as the branded culture and flaunting the affluence through these has become a norm. Recently, a generalized image of a reputable person has become quite material-oriented. Prioritizing affluence over characteristics has become the norm. Most of us often look up to a wealthy man possessing a huge villa, driving the most expensive car and wearing certain brands as a most influential one in the society, regardless of his public dealing and attitude. For instance, in most of the Asian countries, the rich ones with luxurious lifestyles are mostly in the power of controlling over the public, hence it has become a common perception for identifying the respectable people. On the other hand, the trend of valuing others for their kindness and their efforts towards improvements in society has outdated. Although these characteristics are still acknowledged and appreciated, no one wants to follow their footsteps since they seem leading an ordinary life with no attractions for others. For example, a well-known social-worker in Pakistan, Abdul Sattar Edhi, spent his whole life for the humanity and serving the poor, but unfortunately, no one gave him the respect and honour he deserved until he passed away. Thus, these values are no longer a scale of determining the worth of a person. In conclusion, this material-driven world has totally changed our mindsets for a respectable and honourable human being. I completely agree that the values like honour, kindness and trust have lost their worth in our eyes, instead, we have started judging an individual from their wealth.