A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are numerous ways in which a person can be valued, and these vary widely from culture to culture. They also vary over time, and some people suggest that in the modern era it is more common for people to be judged according to their wealth, rather than personality attributes. This essay will argue that it is probably not true. Looking around, it is easy to see why someone might claim that people are increasingly judged by their material possessions. One just has to look at social media, such as Instagram, to see how expensive possessions can equate to popularity. Young people aspire to have fast cars and designer clothes so that they can appear wealthy and gain the attention of others, building large online followings. However, is this a modern phenomenon? It seems unlikely. In ancient eras, it was kings and queens who were revered by the wider society. They were not necessarily loved for their honour and wisdom; mostly they were adored for their wealth and power. People wanted to emulate them, just like today’s celebrities. The idea that these “old fashioned” values were somehow of value in historical eras, but not today, is probably false. In fact, in today’s democratic societies, it is common to see people admired and even rewarded because of their outstanding personality traits, whereas in the past these may have been overlooked. In conclusion, people have probably always worshipped others because of their social status and material possessions. The idea that we are now living in a vapid, materialistic age is likely untrue.