Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The significance of being self-employed has always been discussed and people hold varied perceptions about it. There is a trend of being self-employed nowadays among most of the people instead of working for an organisation or firm. There are myriads of reasons why people are following this trend. This essay will shed light on possible drawbacks of being own boss in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, There are a bunch of reasons why people are following a trend of being their own boss. Primarily, they are fed of working under someone who always gives orders and never gets satisfied with their work. Secondly, they might have gained enough experience in their field that they wanted to set up their own business following their dreams. For instance, a survey was conducted by business unions of start-up companies in the USA among 50 new start-up company owners which revealed that 36 of them confronted that they worked for some company and after gaining enough experience, they are following their passions finally. On the other hand, there are several cons of running the business on own. Firstly, they have to invest a plethora of money in the business for which they take a loan from the bank. For any reason, if they cannot make any profits in the business they have to pay the interest amount out of their pocket which cost them a lot. In addition to that, they have more responsibility to look after being a boss, unlike working for a company where people work what they have been given from 9-5 and enjoy the rest of the day. Thus, being self-employed involves a lot of risks. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although many people are opting for being their own boss rather than working in a company for 9-5 and relaxing for rest of the day, this profession involves lots of risk and drawbacks.