Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

A very important issue today is the fast-growing usage of automobiles. Over the last three decades,people have begun to purchase so many cars and this is why some people are of the opinion that the world is now 'one big traffic jam'. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the given topic, show my approval of the statement and provide some solutions to the problem. To begin with,in my opinion,car ownership has rocketed. This statement is reasonable because a large number of people use this type of transport. After all, cars are extremely convenient and provide fast transportation to distant locations. However, they cause a lot of issues in our environment. An indication is the apparent rise of the carbon footprint, which contributes to global warming as well as air pollution. This is the reason why ecologists are concerned about the alarming growth of automobile ownership. Regarding the measures a country can take in order to discourage its population from using their vehicles, there are some great ones. A possible solution can be given the privilege to people who use environmentally-friendly means of transport such as bikes. This can certainly help to decrease the number of people preferring the more harmful vehicle. For instance, the Netherlands have a policy which encourages people to ride bicycles which includes more alleys for cyclists and priority on the road. As a result, the Netherlands is one of the biggest nature preservers and in order for us to be like it,we need to change our policy. To conclude, I firmly believe that the world's population has started to overuse its cars. Even though it is easier to drive them, it damages the environment with their exhausting fumes. This is why it is high time the government took measures to safe nature by making less harmful means of transport more popular.