Write about the following topic. It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Often it is argued that it is difficult to get children to read. This happens for several reasons. Firstly, nowadays it's noticeable how it is more and more difficult for young to read. There are many other choices such as cartoons, movies or videos that children could watch rather than reading a novel. In addition, the vast majority of films are inspired by book tales. For this reason, children could be attracted more to watch the film rather than reading the book. Recent studies suggest that nearly 80% of interviewed children prefer to watch a movie than reading a book, they said that this is also quicker as it requires less time and effort. To cite an example, when I was a child, I owned a Disney novel that I never read, nevertheless, I watched the movies of that novel many times. Moreover, reading is extremely important for children development as it can help them with different things such as improving their ability to be creative, improving their writing ability and their capacity of understanding written text. Furthermore, it would be advisable that both governments and schools take severe measures in order to allow young teenagers to read more. One of the solutions could be creating group classes reading sessions where students could have to opportunity to discuss, share, talk and analyze different books. Although, this solution could be very expensive for governments and institutions. To cite an example, my school created a reading group, when I joined, I was able to read a lot of books and know more about different authors, styles and also this experience improved my writing skills. To sum up, I believe that is very important that young group ages get used to read, by doing so they could improve even more their lifestyle and reach a better result. Studies show that teenagers that were used to read earn a higher salary compared to people that weren't used to read.