Most schools are planning to replace sport and exercise classes with more academic sessions. How will this change affect children’s lives in your view?

In recent times schools are thinking of swapping sport and exercise classes into academic sessions. However, In my opinion, replacing physical activities with study sessions can affect a child's growing mental age and lose their chance of showing their sporting skills to the world. This essay will discuss those negative effects by taking examples from newspapers and academic journals. Firstly, sports and exercise are the major physical activities which help children to be fit and strong in their growing age. Moreover, it is compulsory for the growing child to participate in physical activities for at least 2 hours a day. In fact, the recent survey conducted by The Times of New York revealed that children who are not actively participated in sports or exercise developed obesity problem. Thus, it is not recommended to replace sports or exercise with any academic classes. Secondly, games are the best way for the children to show their talents to their peers and family. Playing sports in school will help them to take challenges and competitive spirit. However, replacing this option in schools by academic activities would potentially discourage them to be a sportsperson. For example, in 2006 Olympics two teenagers from Japan championed in the 100 meters running and long jump, this is because the Japanese have made sports classes compulsory from 2005 in every school. As a result, it is proved that games can make the child show their sporting skills to the globe. In conclusion, I personally believe that academics are compulsory in schools, however replacing games and exercise with academic subjects would make the child physically weak and miss chances to prove themselves in sports.