Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

The count of people having their personal cars in cities has escalated very quickly over the last thirty years which has led cities to look like to a huge traffic jam. To me, this is true to a great extent as roads have become packed with these cars always hindering the smooth flow of traffic. The government can improve this situation by implementing laws like applying more taxes on owning more than one car, reducing the fares of public transport and making it comfortable enough for its users. The statement agrees with the current road rush that is seen nowadays. Every time, the roads are jam-packed with a huge sea of cars flooding the roads. In the past, only a few people had their own cars and a relatively larger proportion of public utilized public transportation; but this has reversed over a period of thirty years as trends have changed towards the purchase of personal cars instead of the usage of local buses. For instance, even in small cities of Pakistan like Bahawalpur, this has caused massive road blocks due to multiple lines of cars piling-up on roads, especially during working days. This has urged the National Highway Authorities to install signals on roads to allow the movement to flow smoothly, especially in peak hours. Multiple approaches can be adapted by the Government to restrict people from buying more and more cars for their individual use. One good way to address is to apply multiple taxes on the purchase of cars, especially for people having more than one. This has been done by the Pakistani Government which has led to discouragement of personal car purchase in past few years. Another way to prevent people from owning cars is to lower the fares they have to pay for public transportation. Moreover, public buses can be made on a structure that is physically comfortable to use. For example, the Speedo Bus Service in Lahore and Multan, which is built on the design of international buses and has much lower fares than other such services that have allowed people to prefer it. In conclusion, such practices by Government can lead to a reduction in the current situation of the world looking like “a huge traffic jam” that has been growing for the last thirty years and therefore can stop people from buying more and more cars.