In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A huge number of people are having health issues because of the consumption of a large proportion of junk meal on their daily menu. That’s why higher taxes should be imposed by the authorities on the purchase of this particular section of feed. I agree with the given idea a hundred per cent as the usage of these snacks has not only made our youngsters obese and lazy but also, it has made them prone to a countless number diseases at a very early age. Fast food like burgers and pizza is a high trend cuisine nowadays as these are readily available around the corner and taste delicious too but their usage has led to the emergence of a variety of health issues in masses. There is clear evidence that fast foodstuff consumption leads to weight gain which itself is a significant risk factor to a sedentary life. As such diet is high on fats and carbohydrates and along with a busy routine with no time for exercise, people grow more and more obese which further adds up to the reduction in their physical activity. For instance, multiple studies have proven that in the United States of America, more than half of their public is fat and with a hectic routine with no spare time to engage in any physical activity, they acquire diseases at an accelerated rate than the people in China. Moreover, significantly greater risk of development of diseases at an early age is seen in people consuming a fat-rich diet. Researches have shown that there are increased chances of the early development of cardiovascular and hypertensive diseases in obese people. For example, events of myocardial infarcts and hypertension were seen mostly in the people utilizing lesser vegetables in their diet. Therefore, to conclude with, multiple taxes should be imposed on the sale of junk meals so that the people can adopt a healthier lifestyle which would not only prove to be beneficial for their physical but also their mental health.