Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past few years, car ownership has vigorously increased, which has caused a big traffic jam in many cities in the world. I reckon, this statement is absolutely true. This essay will discuss how this statement is true and suggest ways that the government may take to prevent this issue. To begin with, there are two main factors behind the rise of car ownership. Firstly, public transportation is not very much convenient in many cities, however big metropolitans have the facility. As a result, many people who do not live in big places, may not utilize the benefit of the bus or metro. For example, a person willing to go for a grocery shopping at a distance of only four kilometres has to wait for 1 hour for a bus or walk half a kilometre to get to the bus stop. Secondly, linked to the first, is the rising income of the population. Many families can afford a car to avoid public transport or just for luxury. For instance, whereas nowadays, the average family has more money for entertainment or comfort purpose than 50 years ago. On the other hand, tackling this issue is very much needed by the ministry. This involves way like the betterment of public transport. This could be done by providing more buses, metros, or other city transports to various routes so that the public does not must have a car for easy moving. For example, if there were only 2 buses for a route, it would be 4 buses and they would cover more places in that route. The other way is, restricting the maximum number of cars per family, which means a family could not be allowed to have more than a certain number of vehicles even if they can afford it. Such a step could minimize the excessive buying of cars and the traffic affair. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both the reason for the notion and the measures government can take to normalize it. While the authority can take the steps, people are also responsible to follow the proper rules in order to minimize the issue.