Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to their studies in school. What are the reasons? How can we solve this problem?

Not being able to focus on class is one of the main concerns in the early-age learning journey. From educational perspectives, there are two main reasons which are the mismatched learning styles, and long-term exposure to poor nutrition and lack of sleep. Firstly, it is irrefutable that we all learn differently, and so do children. Some learn best by seeing, hearing or doing. Therefore, if the teachers only emphasize a specific learning style and apply it to all the children, this can result in a lack of focus and understanding. In this case, the solution is to ask the teachers to observe what are the options that they can choose to engage children in their learning experiences. For example, inquiry-based learning projects can be planned and adapted to search for the right methods. Secondly, it is sad to state, but, indeed, children cannot focus on their studies simply because they do not get enough sleep or nutrition. In fact, there are circumstances where many children do not have enough recommended sleeping hours or have to skip breakfast to be on time. Consequently, these children do not have energy and become distracted in class. As adults, we need to take our steps to reduce the numbers of children who have physical disadvantages. Government, schools and families have to work together to build up better schedules so children can have more time to sleep. Besides, they also must have free-food programs for poor children to make sure they are full when they study. In conclusion, there are many reasons which could lead to the failure of paying attention in the classroom. However, from my perspective, mismatched learning styles and lack of nutrition and sleep are the main causes. Together with families, governments and schools have to work on their policies in teaching methods and free-food programs to support children more.