Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The capital offence among youth makes many people think that the court should apply the same punishment as adults on young people. Even though it seems like a logical interpretation, I strongly oppose the idea for the sake of teenagers’ future. Firstly, we should not apply the same criminal courts on young people because they are too young to fully understand that their criminal acts could lead to potential consequences. More precisely, teenagers may be physically grown-up and look like adults, but they are not mentally mature enough to wisely evaluate their decisions. As a result, the youth usually act impulsively and engage in risky behaviours to prove that they are outstanding or to get more attention. This is the reason why it is unfair and merciless if they do not have their juvenile courts which are made for teenagers’ biological clocks. Secondly, approving the same court on teenagers means that the young have to spend their lives in prisons instead of reformatory schools, and I strongly disagree with this point. From my perspective, rehabilitation is a vital process, especially for young people. Therefore, rather than sending young people to prisons where hardened criminals are living, we should let them stay in reformatory schools where they can continue their academic learning journey. In those places, they will be separated from bad people and focus on their future. Otherwise, spending some years in prisons with professional crimes can lead to shock or even mental disorders. In conclusion, I oppose the view that the youth have to be under the same crime punishment systems as adults when they commit serious crimes. The explanations for this is that they are too young to control their thoughts, and they can suffer from psychological problems if they have to go to jails.