Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent to do you agree or disgaree ?

It is sometimes said that traditional educational systems should aim to create well-behaved residents and employees, leaving the individual needs of its students aside. I disagree with this viewpoint because I believe that for a young person to contribute meaningfully to his society, it is vital that we put him in a learning environment that centres around his personal needs. The primary goal of schooling should focus on cultivating a strong sense of autonomy in its students. For instance, the ability to think critically about everyday situations is profoundly important. Every content, no matter how well-structured it is, can have a way of making itself into real life. Take math for an example. Students should not only learn complex math formulas but also get used to the practice of using one or two of them to make sense of a familiar phenomenon around them. The use of arithmetic in the work of a cashier is a common case where students can see how math is useful in the practical world. Transferring academic knowledge into daily life applications is one of the best ways that educators can do to add value to their learners. That said, from such a solid foundation of individuality, teachers can then foster a spirit of serving in their children's minds. Specifically, they can encourage learners to brainstorm ways in which a piece of knowledge can help other members of the community. This approach will not only result in more positive and sustainable societal outcomes but also minimize resentment in people as they enter the workforce, because the career they choose indeed started from a real interest that was nurtured during their school years. Hence, educational officials should attend to both the personal goals and societal goals of their learners if the ultimate purpose of education is to create moral and qualified members of society and companies. Taken together, I believe that the most important objective of education is to help a person grow autonomously first. Only after such a mission is achieved, students can fully absorb the sense of societal responsibility and become truly valuable contributors to the country.