Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Railways are the cheapest mean of transportation. In some countries, authorities are investing less on railways and developing roads. I partially agree with this notion that the government should spend money on railways than roads. On the one hand, railways are the most convenient medium of commuting. Railway ticket price is economical and less expensive. Further, common people can easily afford this price and travel easily. For instance, In India, one easily travels up to 300 km in 100 rupees. In addition, it is the most comfortable mode of travelling. People can sleep even in their journeys; however, a variety of class is also available. One can travel in sleeper or seating coach as per their preferences. Hence, railway travel is cheap and comfortable due to this government should spend money on this. On the other hand, the development of road transport is vital for the overall development of the nation. Raw materials to the factories are provided by using these roads. The gross domestic product is directly dependant on the regular supply of this. For instance, tons of woods from mountains to plains are provided by loading trucks. If this supply is hampered, the furniture industry may face huge losses. Maintenance of roads is paramount for the better infrastructure which helps the growth of the country. Therefore, expenditure on roads is helpful for the growth of the nation. In conclusion, roads and railways are equally important for the development of the nation. One is cheap and other is helpful in a vailability of regular supply of raw materials so I partially agree with this notion that all the money should be invested on road.