Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that unhealthy food impact our life lifes negatively. That is why some people believe that the government should promote and apply taxes in unhelathy food restaurants. However, others argue that 'fat taxes' is actually useless. This essay will discuss both of these views and will provide my own opinion. On the one hand, Applying taxes to the unhealthy food might have a significant contribution in people' health and well-being. Firstly, it might rerverse the opening of new fast food stores and the streaming of fast food advertisements in TV, as they might have less funds and revenue available to spend. Therefore, people will not have enough stores near by to buy unhealthy food and neither, cope with advertisiments that encourage them to buy junk food. Lastly, the money obtained from the taxes could be used in the construction of new exercising areas. Also, it could be used for the creation of new programs to educate people about healthy life-style. On the other hand, the 'fat taxes' approach might be useless and it has proven to be uneffective in some countries. Nowadays, the junk food restaurants earn a lot of money. Even if they are paying high taxes, they will still having money to increase their profits. Then, at the end, this approach might not be effective enough. In addition, taxing unhealthy food does not guarantee that people will stop buying it. In fact, a recent study conducted in France showed that, even when there were more taxes in cigarretes, people there were still smoking as often as before and in some case more than before. Lastly, approaches such as public healthy and life style programs might raise more awareness among the society than taxing unhealthy food. In conclusion, although taxing unhealthy food might have a minium effects in individuals and in the society, it should not be given with great importance. I believe that there are better approaches than this, giving more positives outcomes.