In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Student life is without a doubt strenuous and mentally taxing. Due to this few nations promote young people to pause and take a break, before they enter University. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument. To begin with, every child has to work hard, put in extra hours, burn the mid night oil to able to acquire amazing results in order to get into their dream university. Furthermore, they make tremendous sacrifices in order to succeed. As a consequence, they decide to take a year off and choose to explore the world or utilise their time in chores. The advantage of doing so is that it will enable the child to gather knowledge from the real world. As a result, he/she can make better informed decision on what would they like to pursue at college based on their experience. On the other hand, a year's break can result in numerous distractions. Firstly, the ability to earn money at such a young age would lead to unwanted temptations. For instance, since the child is not bound by commitment, they can spend it however they want. Often times, this would lead them to alcoholism and drugs. In addition to this, they might be addicted to the act of earning money which would result in them not wanting to go back to University. In conclusion, although the thought of enabling a tutee to take time off is Nobel, it must be regularised Universities. Some boundaries must be laid out so that the time spent during the break is used wisely and to it's fullest capacity.