The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity detrimentally affects the health of people and put the burden on the health care system. Some people opine that education in school can alleviate the situation whilst others have contrast viewpoint. Although eating habits can be improved at home, I believe the introduction of physical studies in school syllabus is the best solution. Firstly, students will run and play physical games while studying this subject. This will eventually help them to maintain their weight. If they regularly attend their classes, they will be physically active. Staying active accustom to be less prone to obesity. For example, children who play sports in school are fit and healthy. Physical education as a subject will provide a fixed time for children to work on their bodies. Hence, these classes gradually lead to a healthy nation. Secondly, health problems are caused by unhealthy diets. Lessons on physical education guide students on a balanced diet which is a vital element. Eating habits affect enormously health of people. If this is changed, fewer people will be overweight. For example, those who consume more than the required calories are fat. A proper proportion of carbohydrate and protein in daily consumption is necessary for better health. This knowledge can be gained from lessons at school. Therefore, physical education as a subject will aware people about proper diets. In conclusion, physical education as part of school curriculum will help students to stay active and healthy. In my perspective, this approach should be adapted to combat the burgeoning obesity issues in the world.