In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

There has been a long debate about the long-term impact of the increased ageing population. From my point of view, the negative effect of this trend exceeds its positive effect. It is undeniable that elderly people are possessed with a richer experience that benefits in the workplace, which should be taken into consideration. To be specific, in the organisation, a person with superb interpersonal skills and overall perspective could provide the company with development goals. However, the improving effect on the work efficiency of experienced employees can’t expand to physical workplaces, which require body strength and physical flexibility. Thus, the benefit of aged people is a limited effect because of the restriction of body condition. Strongly I believe, on the flip side, the potential crisis brought by the growing ageing population challenges governments. For one thing, elderly people who have less resistance to infections and other diseases produce extreme pressure on the health system, especially during the pandemic. Frequent aliment requires a constant supply of trained doctors and medical resources. For the other, as age grows, people will ultimately lose the ability to work to satisfy their own basic needs. Therefore, it is the government’s duty to allocate money and other resources to ensure their lives, which creates long-lasting for them. In conclusion, considering the prolonged negative effect of more elderly people on the medical system and financial allocation and its minor improvements. I would once reaffirm my point of view, that this trend’s drawbacks are of higher significance than its benefits.