Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The usage of private transportation, especially cars, has been happening for the past decades and seemingly will keep on occurring for more decades to come. There are various sets of problems that are caused by this occurrence, such as traffic congestion and environmental issues. In this essay, I will talk about the disadvantage of the increasing trend of car possessions which caused traffic issues and what path the governments should take to solve this problem. First of all, people used to not prefer having cars because they were expensive and impractical, which is why public transportation was preferable back then. Hence, there was less crowded traffic compared to the present day. Other than that, modern society does not see the appeal of using public transportation because of various reasons that i will talk about in the next paragraph, which boost the ownership of cars. The rising trend of owning a car can only mean one thing, which is the unmet need of society to travel with ease using public transportation and facilities. Things like un-walkable roadsides, limited bus routes, or expensive train tickets can be the culprit of this phenomenon. The government should take a step forward to stop this catastrophe by ensuring the quality of the city’s public transportation instead of making more roads. In conclusion, car ownership is a big problem in the modern era as it causes a lot of issues like traffic jams, which is why the government needs to step in to upgrade the public means of transportation the society can choose instead of having privately owned cars. Furthermore, the high taxation for car users might be another solution to lower the trends of having cars.