Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Parenting is bliss and a huge responsibility for any individual. In every stage of life, in one or another way, everyone is learning the parenting skills from supporting a friend or a family member in the initial time of their parenthood, to be a guardian of younger ones. Moreover, one can be proficient in such skill after becoming a parent of his/her own child as he/she must take a greater burden on their shoulders. However, I believe that it would be very helpful for every young person to learn parenting during school life, but it would not be mandated for them to learn. Firstly, to be a good guardian, one has to have different skills such as caring, companionship, good listening, advising, compatibility and so on. These skills can be learnt from experiences and there are not set modules or school of thoughts that inherent such qualities in one ’s personality. In spite, schools can be a good medium to teach parenthood as it provides a cohesive environment to grasp and innate the above-mentioned qualities in one ’s personality. In addition, it will break the notions of gender discrimination related to motherhood and not the parenthood. Apart from this, many countries have initiated such parenting classes for the children ageing between 15 to 18 years. Japan, being a wonderful example of such initiative, has begun to take practical classes where children are being taught with models, theatre games and group exercises. This has shown a significant improvement in personality skills of such children as they became more responsible, caring, problem solver and a good friend. Nevertheless, it has reflected minimal negative connotations from individuals due to mischievous - behaviour, lack of maturity and willingness to take up such kind of learnings. Thus, I would conclude this by reconfirming my opinion that learning parenting is good to have in school, but it shall not be mandated. Experience is a great teacher and one can better learn by experiencing it in the course of life and be a good parent.