The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The need for oil and gas is increasing worldwide. Due to this reason, certain people think that the remote areas should also be dug for fuel. Even though it can be a remedy for the lack of fuels and can be a solution for economic problems, it poses threat to wildlife along with the depletion of the natural resources. On one hand, exploiting the remote areas where maybe more oil and gas can be found will help to tackle its shortage. In other words, because of the increase in urbanization more fuel is required to run industries and vehicles thus, the current sources are failing to meet the needs. This leads to the demand for new sources. Additionally, it will also be helpful for the economic development of such nations. For example, under-developed countries like Africa can take full advantage of this exploitation and rise economically. Still,there are many places in Africa which are untouched and full of resources from where lots of oil and gas can be extracted. On the other hand, its disadvantage includes the destruction of the place’s flora and fauna. To elaborate, the places where the mining for fossil fuels takes place, a huge plot of land is taken up and a lot of heat and smoke is expelled which leads to the difficulty in the survival of species around. The second drawback of this practice is that it causes the quick depletion of natural resources. That is, it takes thousands of years for the formation of oil and gas and if we exploit even the remote areas, after a few years there will not be any sources left to mine. In conclusion, the environmental risks do not outweigh the benefits of economy and the abundance of resources that accrue from remote oil and gas exploitation. Admittedly, we require a lot of energy on daily basis, however,there must be strict protocols to protect the environment by limiting the usage of oil and gas.