Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than expecting individuals to take responsibility. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental damages are increasing due to a lack of awareness among people. Some people opine that this is the duty of authorities and big companies to clean the nation; nevertheless, I partially agree with this statement. Although common citizens pay enormous taxes, they are equally responsible. On the one side, heavy duties are paid by the civilians to maintain the country. These funds are enough to clean the nation and reverse the damages. The government should utilise these on the betterment of the nation. Further, factories play an enormous role in damaging the environment. Waste of these is thrown in water-bodies which spoil natural resources. For instance, in India, tons of waste from textile industries are thrown in rivers. If these industries are causing these damages, they should reverse this. Therefore, authorities and industries should clean the environment not the common people. On the other side, environmental damages cannot be controlled and reversed without the support of civilians. Everyone should contribute to curbing these issues. If common people are not asked to clean the environment, they will be less serious. This will eventually lead to an increase in such problems. A better and clean nation is possible if everyone contributes. For instance, litter in rivers cannot be controlled without individuals support. People will be more thoughtful before throwing and damaging resources if they are punished for their acts. This punishment is to clean the nation, therefore, for the safety of the environment, it is mandatory to involve the general public. In conclusion, maintaining the environment is a common objective. This goal is achieved by equal efforts by the government, big factories as well as general people; however, I do not agree that only authorities and industries should reverse the environmental damages.