Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, those crimes committed by teenagers, especially under 16 years old children, have occupied a growing proportion of crime. Education as a major punishment of juvenile delinquency has gradually lost its deterrent force. So whether we should punish young criminals with severity is now discussed by an increasing number of people. Personally, I do strongly disagree with this opinion. First of all, a majority of juvenile delinquency can be attributable to the rising divorce rate and family violence. In such families, children are usually not properly taken care of, and to make things worse, their psychology may probably be distorted. At this time, any other punishments except education, such as put into prison, physical punishment and so on have a detrimental effect on their development, because teenagers are immature so that prone to social ills and even hardly distinguish between virtue and evil, education can improve their discrimination and enable them to understand how they are expected to behave in society. If we only put young people into prison-like punishing adults, their weak sprit will be damaged a second time and even worse, their behaviour becomes out of control. In the second place, nowadays, many programs are full of crime, violence pornography and bloody contents, they are often glorified and polished to attract youngsters’ eyes and to be conveniently imitated. Watching too many these programs, children may become isolated, violent and aggressive. Thus, we should strictly control the contents of programs rather than increasing penalties on young criminals. Teenagers are innocent, if TV programs cannot remove these unhealthy pictures, even though teenagers have acceptance of punishment, they will step into the wrong way one after another. To draw a conclusion, education has a profound long-term effect which can remain lifelong, whereas the effect of punishment is temporary and the more the worse. Therefore, it is the responsibility of every member of a society to take responsibility for helping the younger generation to become dedicated not criminal members of that society.