As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

As our world is continuously evolving, in some countries, the populations tend to choose to live alone or in small nuclear family units. In my opinion, this trend can be attributed to the financial instability among the young, and as this issue continues to develop, it could have some negative effects on society, namely that people will become more distant. On one hand, individuals choosing not to live as a large family or choose a solitary life could be the result of financial instability. Simply put, while our living standards are increasing over time, the price for basic needs in life such as electricity and gas bills also skyrocket, to the point one cannot save much money to afford a large apartment. Thus, they have to pick an affordable flat, which normally would not provide enough space for a large family. Taking Hanoi as an example, with the standard salary, rent would accumulate for almost half of it, hence renting or purchasing a large house for an extended family would rarely be considered. On the other hand, this trend could result in some detrimental impacts on society, such as it could make people become more distant from each other. This is due to the fact that, in order to become financially stable, citizens have to work diligently, which in turn will shorten their free time. As a result, parents have less time to spend with their children and can only do limited work to take care of the elderly. For instance, in many families, the previous generation works day and night to ensure that their kids have a carefree childhood, while kids require attention and affection from their parents. This could create misunderstanding, and in time, a massive rift between the two generations. In conclusion, financial instability accounts for many individuals choosing a lone life or small family units, and this could leave a mark on society, as citizens could be prone to be callous and indifferent.