Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is very disheartening to note that a few people think that the government’s efforts at preserving and encouraging art are a waste of money. I completely disagree with this point of view. Firstly, art is a very important aspect of human history, which is borne out by historians, who have found answers to many unanswered questions about human civilizations through the examination of artefacts. For instance, historians have been able to describe the irrigation methods in previous civilizations. Additionally, many important subjects have been taught in schools very easily through craft. For example, measurements and geometrical concepts can be understood well with the skills of origami, which involves paper-folding techniques. Secondly, artistic expression has always been considered to be the best combination of science and technology, whether it's a painting or making a physical or digital product. There is always a fascinating story behind every creative piece of work which is an outcome of knowledge. To illustrate the colour red is used to communicate intense human emotions, which is also known all over the world as a symbol of danger. The technology uses this knowledge to inform people, say through traffic signals or danger signage, to be cautious. This kind of application reinforces that knowledge is power. Like it or not, art is everywhere like music. Engaging with it and learning from it will only enhance human creativity and quality of life. Therefore, I appreciate all the government’s efforts to support the preservation of artefacts. It is completely in favour of a productive society. It has always been admired by the elite class and is better understood by many scientists, mathematicians and entrepreneurs.