The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The effectiveness of using a personal car as primary transport is debatable. Some people believe that it is much more effective to use an alternative mode of transport than personal transport. This essay will discuss why alternate transport is far more effective than a personal car as primary transport and laws to restrict personal car uses. Less car meaning less pollution which is good for better human life. If we bring down the car uses then it will be good for our environment also it will reduce the consumption of fossil fuel. A recent study indicates, 10% reduction of a car in a given day will actually reduce 2% of a days pollution. Public transport must be encouraged in order to reduce the traffic jam and it will be a cheap transport as well however, it will change the daily routine. Some people think otherwise, they believe using public transport regularly may cause extra press on us. Waiting for public transport every day might delay the start of work, irregularity also the main factor to consider. Why people will choose alternate transport while they have a personal car handy. You can not rely on the transport which is not in your control and not comfortable like your own car. To recapitulate, this has produced polarized opinions between two thoughts however I strongly agree to introduce an international law to restrict personal car uses and more campaign to literate people about usefulness and effectiveness of general transport. It should be a duty from the government and media to encourage people about it. We may not change it quite easily but in course of time, it can be changed in future which will be beneficial for our upcoming generation. We will plant the seed and out descenders will enjoy the fruit.