Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

There are some debates about the influence of advertising in our lives, some people say that it encourages us to buy unnecessary things, and there are those that believe advertisements tell us about products that may improve our lives. I truly believe that both points make a lot of sense, on the one hand, we have persuasive sellers determined to convince you at any cost, and on the other hand, some great advertisements that illustrate how a product or a service can be useful in your daily life. However, I would say that the first scenario overlaps the second one, and the market is very aggressive when it comes to selling, regardless of whether you need it or not. Nowadays, companies in general, are very concern about how advertising correctly. That's the reason why a lot of investment and research has been done, since the conception of the product until the presentation of it, in order to offer something that makes a real difference in terms of quality, price and performance. Besides that, the publicity can give us a real sense of the added value of the product or service and the positive impact on people's lives. Which can be helpful when it comes to deciding about to buy or not, and even to choose between so many options. Despite all the useful information given on the advertisements, it's important to keep in mind that these companies are interested in selling their stuff, regardless of whether it's beneficial for the consumer or not. In general, the salespeople have aggressive goals and use all the possible strategies, including psychological ones, to convince you to buy something you don't even need or can afford. For instance, an ad of a dishwasher machine can illustrate a scene where a mother puts the dishes to wash and has free time to play with her kid, it seems innocent and great, a mom spending more time with her child thinks to the equipment. But what is not shown, is that maybe the price of the electricity will raise and the mother will need to work more hours to pay for it, which means she will spend less time at home, and consequently, with the kid. In conclusion, despite all the helpful information provides by publicity, we need to face that the real intention behind that is to convince you to buy it at any cost.