It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Some people believe that teaching children at a young age to make differences between good and wrong acts is highly recommended, and punishment can be a good way to let them understand. I totally agree with this belief as unpleasant experiences can provide an effective way for children to know their boundaries. First of all, toddlers are fast learners, therefore, it is not a huge issue to teach them. They learn immediately from their surroundings. If at a younger age, they could be directed to the good path and let themself connect the bad acts to the uncomfortable feelings, as they are growing up, they automatically can behave rightly in a difficult situation. For instance, parents can limit the TV time or postpone the game time based on the children ’s performances. If a child brings home a bad mark from school, parents can oblige the child to practice more. Moreover, at school, teachers also try to find suitable methods to punish bad-mannered students. Of course not with force. As far as I know, violence does not help to solve any problem and in most cases, it brings adverse effects. Therefore, nowadays in China, teachers have not been allowed to use physical penalties anymore since around 2000. Such as in Hungarian middle schools children receive black points after bad manners and earn red points for excellent behavior or answers. To sum up, all children are different, hence, there might be different methods needed. Self-discipline children realize very quickly how to behave right after the first time they get punished. Needless to say, there can not be a perfect punishment for bad acts. Whether parents or teachers should apply penalties carefully and consciously.