Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The type of convicting offence and its related punishment among criminals in society has been a debatable issue in the past few years. Some believe that there should be always confirmed sets of punishment for every kind of crime. Although, I personally believe that situation behind committing a crime should always be considered enough before announcing a punishment. This essay will discuss why it is important to take a few points in a mind and what would happen if there are fixed rules for each offence. On the one hand, people who involve themselves in any criminal activity have certain reasons for performing illegal actions. For example, a recent article in the Times Of India journal found that an individual would turn their kind behaviour and involvement in illegal activities because of destroying family relationships, not having adequate money for their expenses and often have the influence of others who encourage them for doing crime. Therefore, recognizing personal reasons and criminal's behaviour before penalizing would offer them an opportunity to have a dignified life in the future. On the other hand, there are few who are on the side of giving a determined penalty for criminals. By doing so, there will be fear among criminals for doing offence as people know what will be an outcome of a specific crime. As a result, the overall statistics of crime will reduce significantly just because of fear. However, few do not change their mind no fear of punishment leads to convict crime. For example, giving a fixed sentence for each type of crime would not affect the behaviour of criminals. In conclusion, specific punishment for a specific crime could reduce the crime rate to some extent. However, I believe that understanding the cause of crime should be considered and then give an appropriate penalty.