The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many rural areas are being used to extract oil and gas to fulfil the high demand globally. While some believe this should be encouraged, it could also be harmful to our nature. Though there are arguments, I reckon that the negative attributes may not be overlooked by the positive ones. This essay will discuss the views. To begin with, there are some benefits to exploiting fuel from places. Firstly, industries are growing day by day as a result of a progressive society and globalization, thus this needs more energy sources. For example, research says that there is a 40% rise in industrial bodies in the past 20 years. Secondly, now many people can afford a vehicle or install a machine which consumes gas. For instance, a recent study shows that using a personal car has been increased by 50% in 2020 than in 1900. A progressive world helps us to move forward to a better future. Therefore, urban areas might be used to get power. On the contrary, some drawbacks may make it worse. The first is, deforestation, which could be occurred by a huge amount of tree cutting to build a petroleum company. A place in India, for instance, has been demolished by people to make it suitable for mining. The second is the extinction of energy sources. For example, an urban area in Dubai has been completely out of petroleum that was once a hub for this. Humans do not bother to completely destroy our mother earth just for personal gain. Moreover, many places could be harmed and lose their own nature. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both merits and demerits. Although this is necessary to advance our world, I radically agree that we should utilize the sources carefully and limit the demand because disadvantages are more impactful. Therefore, It is our duty to preserve our planet and reconsider the consequences of this.