The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Oil and gas usage is increasing globally. Current sources are limited, thus many rural areas could be the solution for the crisis. While some believe this should be encouraged, it could also be harmful to our nature. Though there are arguments, I reckon that the negative attributes may not be overlooked by the positive ones. This essay will discuss the views. To begin with, there are some benefits to exploit fuel from urban places to meet our rising demand. Firstly, industries are growing day by day, thus this needs more energy sources. Places could be found as a new source as current mines are not enough to fulfil the growing demand. For example, if some more places could be found with petroleum, it may provide enough amount for our growing needs. Secondly, it could be a good economic source for an undeveloped area if they get fuel. African nations, for instance, may come forward to take a chance to research for it and could arrange a great deal. A progressive world helps us to move forward to a better future. Therefore, people are looking for more places as a source of this power. On the contrary, some drawbacks may make it worse. The first is, destruction of nature, which could be occurred by a harming the natural flora fauna. A place in India, for instance, has been demolished by people to make it suitable for extraction of oil. The second is the extinction of energy that could be caused by excessive exploitation. For example, an area in Dubai has been completely out of oil for unregulated extraction. Humans do not bother to completely destroy our mother earth just for personal gain. Moreover, many places could be harmed and lose their own essence. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both merits and demerits of finding new places for energy extraction. Although this is necessary to advance our world, I radically agree that we should not bother more rural places in order to get more fuel. Therefore, It is our duty to preserve our planet and reconsider the consequences of this.