Scientists believe that the world is in danger due to environmental changes. Some people say that personal lifestyle changes should be made to reduce the damage to environment, while others think that the government should do something to help. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many researchers assert that our earth is in endanger because of changes in the environment. While some people contemplate that changes in individual lifestyles would reduce the damage of nature, others contend that governments’ initiatives would help to mitigate this problem. This essay firmly concurs with the former rather than the latter standpoint. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before concluding that every person in the world should change his or her way of living to protect the environment. On the one hand, some people advocate that to reduce environmental damages, it is paramount to change personal lifestyles, and this essay is in accord with this view. The predominant reason behind their thinking is that every day’s activities which have detrimental effects on earth are damaging the environment day by day. Therefore, without changing those activities or lifestyles, it is impossible to make a better healthy world. For example, an empirical study conducted by Cambridge University found that if every family uses a single car instead of using vehicles for every family member, environmental destruction could be reduced by 20% easily. On the other hand, it is argued by some that the government should take steps to minimise the damage of nature because it is the government’s responsibility to work for the betterment of a nation. That is to say, governments should invoke an environmental law to save their country as well as the world. This argument might be compelling to a certain extent, but having said that, it lacks the touch of practicality or reality. This is because a law can be enforced, but it should be abided by the citizen of a country. Otherwise, invoking this type of law will not be effective. For instance, in March 2009, the Daily Star reported that China had taken many steps to reduce carbon footprint, but no policy worked in this country because people were not conscious. In conclusion, even though some people say that governments should take necessary steps to protect the environment, the considered opinion of this essay is that change in personal lifestyle is indispensable to reduce the damage of earth.