Teenagers who commit serious crimes, such as burglary or murder, should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

It is argued that young people should receive the same treatment as adults when they commit severe criminal activities. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of this and then I will give my own opinion that is that teenagers should not be punished the same way as adults. On the one hand, punishing the youth the same way as the adults when they commit serious crimes have its benefits. There is a great chance that when they are seriously punished for their offences, they will learn not to commit crimes ever again in their adulthood, because they would not want to face such consequences another time. Also, it is only fair for the family that seeks justice to have the person who committed the crime judged properly, no matter the age of the criminal. On the other hand, giving the same treatment for teenagers and adults also have its downsides. Young people many times do not have the dimension and impact of their acts have on someone else’s life, so the punishment they receive should take this into account. Another important point is that a severe conviction can scar the youth forever and they may never bounce back for a good and prosperous life. To illustrate, it is often shown on the news stories about people that went to prison very young and when they get out they just commit more crimes. In conclusion, in my opinion, giving the same treatment for adults and the youth can be beneficial but also have many disadvantages. However, overall I think that young people should receive less severe punishments since they sometimes do not understand the consequences of their actions.